Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Capital gains, div and int taxed in two states ny and nj

I received unemployment income from NY.  I am a full time NJ resident.  When I completed the NY portion, it appears that the amount taxed includes interest, dividends, and capital gains that transferred from the federal form, (even though I did not include this with the NY amount).  When I work on NJ, it askes about double taxed income.  The amount auto-populated is nowhere close to including the int, div, and capital gains.  I want to be sure I'm not missing something, and can include these amounts in the double taxed income column.  

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DanielV01
Expert Alumni

You're not missing anything, but you are misreading the New York tax return.  New York is not taxing all of the income, but it does use all of your income to calculate how much tax you would pay on all of your income.  Then, the tax is prorated to the amount of income that is New York income.  What you should be seeing is on the New York tax summary, it will list all of the income as "taxable" in New York, but your actual tax will be based on the income that is actually attributable to New York, and this will show up on the IT-203 as well.