Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Filing First Time

Hello,

I had some questions about filing my taxes for the first time. Long complicated story but I got the go ahead to file my taxes separate from my parents so I was going to file for the first time. I have worked the years 2021, 2022, and now 2023. I need to file for all of these years. 

-Does it matter the order I file? (Do i have to do 2021 first or can i do 2022 since i know where that W2 is)

-Do i have to file extensions since I am very late in filing for these years?

-Is it ok to still file if my parents still claim me as a dependent on their taxes for 2021?

-If I am paying off a student loan that is in my mom’s name, is there anything I have to/should do for tax purposes?

Im sorry for all they questions. I’ve never done this before and I don’t have anyone to ask. I want to do it right. I appreciate the help.

-SH

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Terri_G
Employee Tax Expert

Filing First Time

Thank you for your question and congratulations on filing your tax returns for the first time.  The order you file your 2021 and 2022 taxes does not matter.  It will be easier to file your 2022 tax return first as you have your w-2 handy and you are able to efile your return until October 16, 2023.  You can file your 2022 tax return using the online program.  To file your 2021 tax return, you will need to purchase and download the 2021 desktop program to your computer and print your 2021 return to file by mail.