Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Level 1

sch c cost of inventory

I am a musician who sells my own cd . I am never sure how I am to expense the cost of manufacturing the cd.

Is it entered in supplies? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
ReneeTAXEA1
Expert Alumni

sch c cost of inventory

Thank you for contacting TurboTax Live!  We see that you had a question - about Schedule C and your cost of inventory to sell the CDs that you produce!  That is really cool that you are in the music industry and produce your own CDs!!!  We thank you for your question!

With regard to your question - you mentioned that you are "never sure" how you are supposed to expense the cost of manufacturing the music CDs that you sell.

You asked how to expense the cost of manufacturing - and if you should enter the cost of manufacturing the CDs in the "supplies" category of TurboTax Live! Self-Employed product offering.

In terms of where you need to enter any costs attributed to the manufacturing of CDs and where "inventory / cost of goods sold" actually is, you will need to go to the TurboTax Live! Self-Employed product offering - and to where the Inventory (a/k/a cost of goods sold) question appears in the Interview Questions.

TurboTax Live! Self-Employed product offering will then ask you the right questions to calculate your Inventory and cost of goods for the tax year correctly.

The Interview Questions - will ask you for 3 items to calculate the Inventory and cost of goods sold: (i) Beginning Inventory;  (ii) Ending Inventory; and  (iii) Cost of Goods Sold.

1.       Click Federal on the left-hand side menu.

2.       Click Income across the top.