Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How can I estimate my taxes with TurboTax?

Hello,

New independent/booth renting hair stylist.  Established an LLC for my business.

How do I go about estimating my annual taxes with TurboTax, so that I know what I need to pay quarterly?

Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
AnnetteJD
Employee Tax Expert

Hi Rwhalen 1! 

Congratulations on starting your business! I am a Manager with TurboTax and I am happy to help you today. Below is some great information on this topic, both about how to handle taxes if you are self-employed AND how to calculate your estimated taxes. Good for you for planning ahead! 

https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/self-employment-taxes/a-tax-guide-for-solopreneurs-self-employe...

https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/self-employment-taxes/myths-about-quarterly-taxes-for-the-1099-...

SwapnaM
Employee Tax Expert

Thanks @rwhalen1 for your question!! Congratulations on your new business!!

If you have used the TurboTax software to file your 2022 tax returns, based on your 2022 tax info, we’ll use the lower of the following IRS-approved methods to calculate your estimated tax payments.

• 90% of your estimated 2023 taxes
  • 100% of your actual 2022 taxes (110% if your adjusted gross income was higher than $150,000, or $75,000 if Married Filing Separately)

TurboTax help article: How does TurboTax calculate my estimated tax payments? 

Starting a new business-Tax implications! 

You can also try using the Taxcaster tool: https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tools/calculators/taxcaster/

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post